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Criminal Conviction Determination Request Form – Medical 
Marijuana Employees 

Section 9.78 of the Ohio Revised Code allows an individual who has been convicted of a 
criminal offense to request that State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy determine whether that 
conviction disqualifies the individual from obtaining a license as any of the following: 

o Medical marijuana dispensary associated key employees 
o Medical marijuana dispensary key employees 
o Medical marijuana dispensary support employees 

To submit for a determination, complete the form included in this document and mail it, 
along with all requested documentation, and a check or money order for $25.00 to: 

State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy 
C/O: CC Determination 

77 South High Street, 17th Floor 
Columbus, Ohio 43215 

 
The check or money order must be made payable to “Treasurer, State of Ohio” 

The Board is required to issue a determination within 30 days of receiving a request.  The 
30-day timeframe begins once a completed form, supporting documents and payment 
have been received by the Board.   

IMPORTANT: The State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy is not bound by its 
determination if, upon further investigation, it finds that the criminal convictions 
of the individual differ from what was included in the request. 

  

http://www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/


Pursuant to section 9.78 of the Revised Code, the Board is required to post a list of all 
criminal offenses of which conviction of that offense would disqualify an individual from 
obtaining a license. 

Rule 3796:1-1-01 of the Ohio Administrative Code lists the following offenses that would 
automatically disqualify an individual from obtaining an employee license:  

 A conviction or plea of guilty, including conspiracy to commit, attempt to commit, 
or aiding and abetting another in committing, the following: 

o Any offense set forth in Chapter 2925., 3719., or 4729. of the Revised Code, 
the violation of which constitutes a felony or misdemeanor of the first 
degree; 

o Any theft offense set forth under division (K) in section 2913.01 of the 
Revised Code, the violation of which constitutes a felony; 

o Any violation for which a penalty was imposed under section 3715.99 of the 
Revised Code; 

o A crime of moral turpitude as defined in section 4776.10 of the Revised 
Code; or 

o A violation of any former law of this state, any existing or former law of 
another state, any existing or former law applicable in a military court or 
Indian tribal court, or any existing or former law of any nation other than the 
United States that is or was substantially equivalent to any of the offenses 
listed above. 
 

 Any first degree misdemeanor offense listed above will not automatically disqualify 
an applicant from licensure if the applicant was convicted of or pleaded guilty to the 
offense more than five years before the date the application for licensure is filed. 
 

 No misdemeanor offense, including misdemeanors of the first degree, related to 
marijuana possession, marijuana trafficking, illegal cultivation of marijuana, illegal 
use or possession of drug paraphernalia or marijuana drug paraphernalia, or other 
marijuana related crimes shall be considered a disqualifying offense. 

 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/2913.01
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/3715.99
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4776.10


Criminal Conviction Determination Request Form – Medical 
Marijuana Employees 

To submit for a determination, complete this form and mail it, along with all requested 
documentation (see Part 4 of this form), and a check or money order for $25.00 to: 

State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy 
C/O: CC Determination 

77 South High Street, 17th Floor 
Columbus, Ohio 43215 

 

The check or money order must be made payable to “Treasurer, State of Ohio” 

Part 1 – APPLICANT INFORMATION - Provide information on the individual seeking the 
determination.  The information must include a valid mailing and e-mail address where the 
individual can be contacted. 

First Name 
 
 
 

Last Name 
 

Street Address 
 
 
 

City  State Zip 
 
 

Contact Email 
 
 
 
Type of License Seeking to Obtain (select one) 
 

Medical marijuana dispensary associated key employee 
 
Medical marijuana dispensary key employee 
 
Medical marijuana dispensary support employee 

 

 

Part 2 – CRIMINAL CONVICTION INFORMATION - If additional space is needed, you may 
attach additional pages. 

Case Number(s): Date of Offense(s): 

State: County: 

Violation(s): 



Provide a detailed description of the offense(s). If additional space is needed, you may attach 
additional pages. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Part 3 - ATTESTATION BY APPLICANT - To be completed by the applicant. Must be manually 
signed in ink. Digital signatures will NOT be accepted. 

I DECLARE UNDER PENALTIES OF FALSIFICATION AS SET FORTH IN CHAPTERS 2921. AND 4729. 
OF THE OHIO REVISED CODE THAT THE ANSWERS PROVIDED IN THIS FORM ARE TRUE, 
CORRECT, AND COMPLETE. 

I HEREBY ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THE STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY IS NOT BOUND BY ITS 
DETERMINATION IF, UPON FURTHER INVESTIGATION, IT FINDS THAT THE CRIMINAL 
CONVICTIONS OF THE APPLICANT DIFFER FROM WHAT IS INCLUDED IN THIS REQUEST FORM. 

Signature of Applicant Date Signed 

Print or Type Name 

 

Part 4 - SUBMISSION OF ADDITIONAL DOCUMENTATION - Include with this form the official 
court record providing the outcome of your criminal conviction (commonly referred to as the entry 
of judgement or sentencing entry).  Failure to include this information may result in a delay in 
processing your request. 
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